Happy and Healthy

After watching the TED Talk “Hackschooling Makes Me Happy” I was inspired. I have always believed that students should be happy when they are in school, but never thought about happiness as being a practice. It only makes sense that students will learn more and be more engaged if they are interested and taking an active role in their education.

8888371155_f777fb68f3_o
“CC by Nicolas NOEL”

 

 

 

I hope in the future I can help my students practice happiness. I think one of the best ways to do this is to get them out of the classroom, and learn through experiences. I know this will be a challenge with funding, but I think it’s important. Although I am not complaining about my education I wish I had the opportunity to experience “hackschooling”.

It is amazing what we can learn from our youth. Props to Logan for making it to TED Talks and having the courage to share a part of his life with so many.

 

MAKING_HACKING_PLAYING

One of my favorite things in school was when I got to make things. I loved be able to touch a manipulate materials while I was learning. I also loved getting to show my finished product off to my parents and anyone else who would look. Students should be making things. I intend to incorporate many activities that involve making in my future classroom. It’s educational and fun.

15381609944_6762634b9e_o
“CC by Designathon Works”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hacking. I must admit that when I hear the word “hack” I think of some guy sitting behind a computer breaking into files and software that he shouldn’t be in. I have never applied the term to a way of improving things, until now. As teachers we should be hacking our curriculum and lessons to make them the best they can be.

3286239243_3c191efe1a_o
“CC by Ryan Whitney”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Playing. Learning through playing is where all great breakthroughs start.

84334296_e757600dcc_o
“CC by Shai Barzilay”

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy and Healthy

  1. Danielle, I agree with your thoughts on play in school. My favorite part of school when I was younger was when I would get to play! So many people believe that play in school is simply a distraction from instruction when really it is the opposite. Children learn so much from doing and playing. The hands on approach is often times much more effective than simple lecture. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

