“Passion Based Learning”

7658268052_5250f6f6ac_o.jpg
“CC by CollegeDegree360”

“School vs. Learning” this is an idea that I never even considered in elementary and high school. There was no difference, they were one in the same. School was something I was required to do therefore learning was also a requirement. My outlook changed completely when I entered college. I was suddenly excited to learn and discovered the ability to learn outside of school. I believe I owe most of this discovery to my college professors but I also think I grew up and was able to truly discover who I was as a person and what I was passionate about.

 

 

I believe the best idea that George Couros offered in his article entitled “School vs. Learning”  was “School promotes starting by looking for answers. Learning promotes starting with questions.”

4932655275_7811863fe8_o
“CC by Veronique Debord-Lazaro”

I believe it’s essential that we teach students to start with questions. There will be times in life when an answer is not available and questions will have to guide them.

 

 

 

 

School vs. Learning

 

“Nine Tenets of Passion-Based Learning” as offered by Tina Barseghian.

1. Reach out to the disenfranchised

2. Show Relevance to life outside of school

3. Indoctrinate passion into the system

4. Try using the school wide enrichment model

5. Digital media is key

6. Tap into the wisdom of your trusted peers

7. Become digital citizens

8.Passion is infectious

9. Connect with parents

These are all great things to remember and use to incorporate passion based learning into the classroom. To read more about each tenet check out the article below.

Nine Tenets of Passion-Based Learning

Leave a Reply

