ASL-Week 2

Last week I decided to keep working on my ABC’s, I am now able to sign most of the alphabet without referring to my learning resources. This deemed to be a little more difficult then I initially thought. It is something that I will have to practice everyday until it becomes muscle memory. I also learned that my hands were lacking in the conditioning aspect of sign language as I woke up with sore knuckles and fingers after practicing for just a couple of hours.

840227898_aad21e129c_o
“CC by missus manukenkun”

After becoming a little more familiar with the ASL alphabet I enlisted the help of one of the campers at the summer camp I am currently working at. She is 16 years old and has a hearing impairment. Although she has a cochlear implant, sign language is still her main form of communication. I told her about my independent learning project and what it all entailed. I then explained to her some of the things I have learned so far. I asked her if I could show her my ABC’s and if she could give me some feedback. She happily agreed. She told me that most of my signs looked could and showed me how to fix the ones that weren’t quite right. She also showed me where to properly hold my hands to ensure effective communication.  The videos and other sources I have found online have been great, but I was so thankful to get some feedback from someone who relies on sign language.

 

 

The video above is what I used the most for my learning last week. I mainly focused on the ABC’s but also watched the lessons on colors, pronouns and numbers towards the end of the video. I love that the entire video is in sign language, not just the parts that the instructor is teaching. There were multiple times where I had to start the video over or go back because I would get so consumed by watching the movement that I would forget to practice the signs that were being taught. I also really like that at the end of the video the instructor talks about deaf culture and how it most people who are deaf do not believe it to be a disability. This is important to remember especially for teachers. Just because they can’t hear you doesn’t mean they can’t understand.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

