Digital Citizenship

When I think of digital citizenship I think of the laws of the web, much like a citizen of a country is expected to follow the laws set fourth by his/her country, or state. Unfortunately their are no set laws or rules about how to act and what to share online. This can mean trouble for many, especially because it tends to be easier to behave in a way that you normally wouldn’t when you are hidden behind a screen.

4841330621_2c1e2f7a62_o
“CC by Hillary”

 

When I was in high school digital citizenship was a not a term used in the classroom. Sure we used technology for learning, but social media, chatrooms, and inappropriate sites were blocked by the school and inaccessible. It wasn’t until I was in college that online learning became a normal for my classes and digital citizenship was addressed.

Researching digital citizenship and everything it entails made me start thinking about my future classroom and how I would incorporate into the curriculum. It is important information that students should learn, but how do you teach it?  I really like the article “5- Minute Film Festival- Teaching Digital Citizenship” . It includes numerous videos, all under 5 minutes long, that can be used to teach students about digital citizenship. It also provides suggestions on discussion about the topic. I like the idea of using technology such as videos to teach about a technology topic. The article also refers to the nine elements that intersect to inform a well equipped digital citizen. This is a great list to refer to about what elements should be taught when referring to digital citizenship. Some of them I was unfamiliar with when first reading through it.

 

Another article I really liked was the The Digital Citizenship Survival Kit. This article spoke of a kit that one teacher uses to teach digital citizenship with the use of props.

Kit
“CC by Craig Badura”

The kit includes a padlock, toothbrush, permanent marker, and tube of toothpaste. Each item is used to teach about a different aspect of digital citizenship. You’ll have to check out the article to learn what each item represents.

 

 

I love this idea because it’s something the students can touch and remember when they are online.

 

 

The last article that I really connected with was “Is your school’s “digital citizenship” practice a pass or fail?” . I’ve always thought it was a good idea for school’s to become ore active in the digital world and make an effort to connect with students outside of the classroom. I never thought how difficult this could be for those who don’t have much experience with this topic.  I really like what this article suggests, the only question I had was the age to have students accsess social media. The article suggests grade 4, this seems so young to me. I know the world is differnet now but I don’t think social media would have been of interest to me when I was in fourth grade. I would love to hear other thoughts about this.

Leave a Reply

