ASL- Week 3 and 4

After week 1 and week 2 I decided to stick with  “Sign Language 101”  for the rest of my ILP. I have really come to like this site. I really like that the videos are split into 10 individual lessons and offer a lot of information in each lesson. It’s almost like I am in an actual classroom.

For the past couple of weeks I have been working on lesson 3 and began working on lesson 4. Before I start a new lesson I always go back and review the previous lessons. This allows me to refresh my memory as well as practice previous learned signs. The lessons I reviewed were body language and gestures, and ABC’s, colors and pronouns. Each video lesson ends with a short quiz over the signs that were taught. I begin my review by taking the quiz. I was very surprised at how much I remember and the signs I was able to identify. I then go back and review the ones I was unsure about or  didn’t remember. I also try to practice my ABC’s at east once a day, just to commit them to muscle memory.

After I’m done reviewing I start on the next lesson. For this post that was lesson 3:Everyday signs and common phrases.

 

I always watch the video through one time before trying the signs myself. This allows me to become familiar with the information before attempting it myself, of course I end up watching the video multiple times during the learning process. I really enjoyed this lesson because I was able to learn signs that I know I will be able to use in the classroom I work in once school starts in August. I was surprised at how much faster I picked up on this lesson compared to some of the others, I think it’s because  my hands are becoming used to all the movements.

I also started lesson 4: Antonyms and Everyday Signs.

I haven’t gotten as far in this lesson and plan to continue working on it this upcoming week.

I am very happy with the progress I have made so far and am excited to continue learning!

8 thoughts on “ASL- Week 3 and 4

  1. I have really enjoyed reading your blog the past few weeks. Your ILP is very close to my heart. I currently have a preschooler who is non verbal. All of his communication is with sign language. When I was in high school I had the opportunity to take a sign language course and I am so thankful that I did. There are some amazing apps for iPads that help with everyday communication with peers in the classroom. You can also order a ton of visual flash cards online to post in your classroom. I am excited to watch the videos you have posted. I feel that the information you have shared this semester wil help me brush up on my sign language this summer as well!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. I will have to check out the iPad apps. I have looked at ordering some flash cards to assist in learning, but love the idea of having them posted in the classroom as well. I’m glad my learning was able to help you learn as well!

      Like

  2. This is great project to be working on especially since you are working with special education. When I worked as a para I learned so much from my students and was very surprised on how much I picked up. I was even able to teach some to my son as well.

    Like

  3. I love your ILP! This is such a good project to not only make yourself a more rounded person, but also to help with your future career! Even when you don’t have students who are nonverbal/deaf, sign language is still really useful. The preschool in my hometown teaches the children different sign language (eat, more, please, etc.). My little cousin was able to communicate with me and tell me what she wanted before she was even one year old! It’s truly amazing! Good luck on the rest of your project!

    Like

  4. Danielle,
    I’m glad you decided to stick to Sign Language! There is a lot to learn; facial expressions, body language, how to form a sentence using ASl, and the signs themselves. It’s a lot to learn and even more to learn in such a short amount of time. It’s good to have a system on how you want to learn sign language; the way you are doing it is the way that my ASL teacher did it with us while I was taking classes. It also seems like you are learning a lot! I hope you continue learning even after this class is over because ASL is a lot of fun and very beneficial to know! Great job!
    Nancy

    Like

Leave a Reply

