Digital Mindfulness

I would like to believe that the majority of my time spent online and using technology is indeed mindful, however this is not always the case. I, like the majority of others, find myself checking Facebook multiple times a day, and scrolling through Pinterest when I find myself the slightest bit bored. Most of these times I am aware of other, more productive things that I could be doing, but that doesn’t deter me from being engulfed in my phone at that moment.

Social media is not the only thing that consumes my technology time. One of the first things I do when I wake up in the morning is check my email. It is also one of the last things I do at night before going to bed.

I believe one of the biggest things we lose by being constantly “plugged in” is life experiences much like Paul Miller mentioned in his TED Talk “Quitting the Internet for One Year.”

One of my favorite parts of this TED Talk is when he speaks about skyping with his niece and nephew after reentering the tech world. It was something that at the time he didn’t necessarily want to do, but was glad he did after the fact. This was really the point in the talk where I grasped it’s not about using or not using technology but instead how we use it.

In the article“What Happens When Teens try to Disconnect From Tech For Three Days” I was very surprised to read some of the responses from students that had taken the “Tech Timeout Academic Challenge.” One of the students said after the challenge that he felt “normal again.” when he regained possession of his cell phone. This caught me off guard because although I depend on my phone a lot I couldn’t imagine not feeling normal if I didn’t have it.

Although I could not imagine going a year without technology I’m interested to try going three days like the students in the story. I think I might just try it as soon as my summer classes are over.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Digital Mindfulness

  1. I think you pointed out some really good things in this post. Like you said, anymore it really is hard to not have the slightest bit of boredom and get on social media, e-mail or pinterest because it is just something we get so used to doing. I think we could all benefit from this video of disconnecting from technology whether it’s a year, 1 month or 3 days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

